Apple Black Friday event offers up to $200 gift card with purchase

Apple Black Friday 2021

Apple launches its 2021 Black Friday shopping event on Friday, November 26. For four days, Apple customers can enjoy an Apple Gift Card for a later purchase when buying eligible products. Bonus gift cards are in different denominations up to $200 depending on which product is bought during the event. The special applies to purchases made online, at Apple retail stores, or by phone through Cyber Monday, November 29th.

How to remove an Activation Lock on iPhone

Activation Lock iPhone

Activation Lock helps keep your iPhone and personal data safe. In the early days of the iPhone, devices were more easily stolen and wiped for resale on the black market. Thanks to Activation Lock and Find My, devices are kept secure from anyone who's not the rightful owner. A lost iPhone can even be erased remotely. Without your Apple ID and password an iPhone cannot be erased or reactivated, and Find My cannot be switched off.

How to check your Apple ID balance on iPhone

Apple Gift Card

Apple makes it possible to keep money stored with your Apple ID for purchases. When you have a credit in your Apple Account, this is the first method used to pay. After the balance is depleted, the next form of payment such as Apple Pay or a debit card is tapped. Funds can be added to your Apple ID at any time, and be used to pay for anything from Apple. This includes iCloud storage, digital content, Apple Music or Apple TV+ subscriptions, apps, and more.

How to use Dark Mode in Google Maps on iPhone

Google Maps

Google has expanded the functionality of dark mode in the Google Maps app on iPhone and iPad. Now when browsing a map or looking for businesses and locations this can be done in dark mode. Before this update, Google Maps users could only see dark mode when actively navigation with turn-by-turn directions. Dark mode can be configured to match the status of the iOS system's dark mode, or to display dark backgrounds and light text all of the time.

How to block users on Spotify

Spotify

Spotify has added a new feature to the social component of its music streaming service. Users can now block individual users from the app, without contacting Spotify customer service. Previously there was a button to "Report abuse", but no way to quickly prevent all interactions with another user. The latest functionality started rolling out to Spotify's app users last week.

Pages

Subscribe to The iPhone FAQ RSS