Security

How to lock your titanium Apple Card

Apple Card Wallet app

Just like any other credit card, the physical Apple Card can be lost or stolen. After discovering that a card is gone or misplaced, the first thing to do is protect yourself. Preventing fraudulent use of the card by an unauthorized person is easy. The titanium Apple Card can be locked instantly to stop anyone from using it for purchases.

How to stop incoming AirDrop share requests on iPhone

AirDrop iOS

AirDrop can be incredibly convenient for transferring images and other content between Apple devices. The feature can also be annoying. Receiving an unsolicited AirDrop request from a complete stranger can feel like an invasion of privacy. Especially if the pop-up content preview is NSFW.

How to disable the passcode on iPhone

Passcode lock

The iOS passcode, along with Face ID or Touch ID, keeps personal information on an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch secure. Rarely the passcode can become an inconvenience, which is why there's an option to switch the passcode off. Temporarily turning off the passcode, or removing it from a device permanently requires entering the existing passcode.

How to change third-party app permissions on Facebook

How to change third-party app permissions on Facebook on iPhone and iPad.

Judging from the number and magnitude of incidents involving Facebook over the past few years, that the social media giant is playing fast and loose with user data is probably an understatement. While it is now putting extra effort into user privacy, it has a long way to go, and you should do everything in your power to protect your data. One of the easiest paths for your private information to leak out is through third-party apps that have permissions to your account.

How to see what third-party apps have access to your Google account, and how to revoke it

How to check and revoke third party access to your Google account.

Many websites and third-party apps will ask for permission to access your Google account for a variety of reasons. They will request different levels of access, ranging from basic profile info used to "sign in with Google" (similar to sign in with Facebook) up to full access to view and edit all data and even create content, which is a scary prospect. It should be obvious by now that you need to take great care regarding your data privacy, so you should know how to see who you've given access to, and how to revoke it if need be. Here's how to do it from your iPhone or iPad:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Security