One of the most anticipated features in iOS 8 was the ability to leave or delete a person from a group message, but some users are reporting that the new feature does not work. This is because there are several factors that need to be met before you can use the option to leave or delete a person from a conversation of 4 or more people. First, lets look at how to leave a group message:
You can leave a group message by entering the message thread and tapping the "Details" button in the top right corner. From here, you can either silence group texts by tapping the "Do Not Disturb" slider, or leave the group entirely by selecting the "Leave this conversation" option.
The "Leave this conversation" panel must appear in red for it to work. If the "Leave this conversation" panel is grey, as shown below, this means there are not enough people in the conversation for you to leave. There needs to be 4 or more people in a thread to make the "Leave this conversation" option available and appear in red.
Why can't I delete a person from a group message?You can only delete a person from a group if you added them. To delete a person from a group message go to the "Details" page and swipe left on their name like you're deleting an email. This will bring up a red "Delete" button for you to tap so you can remove that person from the group.
Why am I still receiving messages from a group conversation when I hit the "Do Not Disturb" button?
Newest iPhone FAQs
Various users have been complaining that they keep receiving messages even after using the "Do Not Disturb" group feature in iOS 8. This seems to be because some users in the group are not using iMessage. For example, if one person in the group is using an Android device, you will keep receiving his/her messages even after you enabled the "Do Not Disturb" slider. You may want to use the "Leave this conversation" option is this type of scenario.
Jon Reed helped with additional research for this article.