How to stay safe while using Uber

Uber Safety Toolkit

It doesn't matter if you're an Uber veteran or someone using it for the first time, the reality is you're getting in a car with a stranger -- something we've all learned not to do from an early age. This doesn't mean Uber isn't safe, it just means like in any situation you should be aware of your surroundings. The Uber app has a few built-in features to help ensure its riders make it home safely, but first lets look at a few other reasons Uber is a great option when you need a ride

Tourists no longer have to worry about dishonest taxi cab drivers taking them for a ride. The app allows users to follow their trip in real time, and your rate doesn't change based on route or time it takes to arrive. You can also use the Uber map to make sure your driver isn't driving you to the nearest darkest alley.

Uber allows for door-to-door pickups. This means you no longer have to stand on the street corner trying to wave down a cab. Instead you can stay in the comfort of your home, hotel or business you're trying to leave. This is also a plus in extreme weather situations. No more frostbite or heat strokes trying to find a cab to take you home.

Share your trip status with your friends

You can add up to five trusted contacts to the Uber app. This allows you to share your trip status with family and friends so they know where you are at all times. You can also set alerts to remind you to share your trips with your contacts. Here's how:

  1. Open the Uber app, then tap the three bars in the upper left-hand corner.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap the "Manage Trusted Contacts tab.
  4. Allow the Uber app to access your Contacts.
  5. Select your Trusted Contacts from your device's Contacts list.
  6. Select your alerts.

You can select to be reminded "before every trip," "at night," or to share trips manually. You can change an alert for each contact or delete a contact by tapping their name in the Manage Trusted Contacts section. You can access your Trusted Contacts from the Safety Toolkit on the Uber app. Here is where you will also find the panic button that will connect you with 9-1-1 and share your location with police.

Remember, you can always share your location with any Contact from the Messages app.

Traveling with a group, especially when intoxicated is also recommended. When traveling with friends is not an option, always remember to trust your gut. Do not accept any rides that make your feel uncomfortable, and always report any negative interactions to Uber. When riding alone, sit in the backseat, and never share your personal information with anyone in the car.

Don't forget to give feedback after every trip. The anonymous feedback option helps Uber weed out the drivers who do not follow their community guidelines.

tags: