Regularly backing up your iPhone to iCloud or iTunes is likely routine for most, but making an archived backup on iTunes probably isn't. The difference between the two is that an archived backup won't be overwritten by subsequent backups, which isn't the case with iCloud backups or automatic iTunes backups. Though usually not necessary, archiving a backup is essential if you plan to install an iOS public beta or if you think you might want to downgrade after installing a new iOS.
Looking for a way to recover deleted photos on the iPhone? The scenario can be grim when important images are deleted before being backed up or imported to iPhoto. Unfortunately, iOS does not have a trash can or recycling bin that stores deleted files.
This means that when pictures are deleted in the Photos app or elsewhere they are immediately removed from the iPhone. So is there any hope for recovery? Luckily there are several software packages that can be used to recover deleted images on iOS hardware. Leawo iOS Data Recovery is one example, which can be installed on Mac or Windows computers for $59.95.
Once iTunes is set to encrypt iPhone backups, switching this feature off requires the password. What if the password is forgotten or unknown? You can still reset iTunes to make a fresh backup without encryption. Follow these steps to uncheck Encrypt iPhone backup:
Perform these steps at your own risk!
1. Delete any Mail Exchange accounts on the iPhone.
2. Delete old encrypted backups from iTunes.
iTunes makes it possible to encrypt iPhone backups when syncing your device. Fortunately for security purposes this backup is protected by a password.
Unfortunately, if you forget this password the iPhone backup cannot be unlocked. In this case, the iPhone can't be restored from the encrypted backup.
To delete old iPhone backups using iTunes follow these steps:
1. Open iTunes.
2. Navigate to the menu iTunes -> Preferences.
3. Select Devices.
4. From the list of Device Backups, select the backup you wish to delete.
5. Click the Delete Backup button.
Encrypted backups will be marked with a padlock icon. When the backup is deleted the process is complete.