Apple has announced the upcoming shutdown of its "My Photo Stream" feature, set to take place on July 26, 2023. This free service, which debuted alongside iCloud in 2011, allowed users to sync photos across their Apple devices. However, with the introduction of the more advanced iCloud Photo Library, My Photo Stream is being phased out completely.
Thanks to Family Sharing, a single iCloud storage plan can be shared among family members. While each member of the group will have their own account, files and backups are stored to the same iCloud plan. For example, sharing a 200 GB iCloud+ plan between two people means one monthly bill for $2.99. The total storage space used by each person is added together and counts towards the limit of 200 GB.
Ever since iCloud+ was released by Apple, the Safari browser on iPhone offers increased privacy features. iCloud Private Relay automatically obscures your IP address, browsing activity, and location from the websites you visit. It works by sending web traffic to an Apple server, which removes the IP address and relays the the traffic to a second server for forwarding to its destination.
Activation Lock helps keep your iPhone and personal data safe. In the early days of the iPhone, devices were more easily stolen and wiped for resale on the black market. Thanks to Activation Lock and Find My, devices are kept secure from anyone who's not the rightful owner. A lost iPhone can even be erased remotely. Without your Apple ID and password an iPhone cannot be erased or reactivated, and Find My cannot be switched off.
Yes, Windows users can get full access to iCloud services right on their PC.
To use iCloud the PC must be running Windows 7 or later. Installing the iCloud app on Windows provides access to services including photo syncing, calendars, contacts, reminders, notes, files, and messages.