Privacy

How to clear your Instagram search history on iPhone

Instagram for iOS

Convenience can be a good reason for a long search history. Instagram is no stranger to this concept, saving a list of recent searches on the iPhone for quick access. Saved information can include tags, Instagram users or any search term that's entered into the search field. While it may not often be necessary, it's good to know that the search history can easily be deleted.

Apple Weekly News Roundup: iPhone SE details coming March 22

4-inch iPhone comparison

The debate over privacy and security continues to swirl around Apple's legal battle with the FBI over iPhone encryption. In the meantime, observers are looking forward to two new iPhone designs this year. Details surrounding the upcoming iPhone SE and iPhone 7 continue to surface. Continue reading for more details on the top Apple news of the week.

7 steps to improve your iPhone security

How to improve your iPhone's security.

Hardly a week goes by in which we don't hear about a major breach in cyber security, be it stolen credit card data from a major retailer like Target or Home Depot, to leaked personal data, like the celebrity photo leak on iCloud or the Sony Pictures hack. We've all heard about stolen identities and the nightmare the victims go through to get them back, constant attempts of corporate espionage, and cases of private citizens being surveilled under dubious circumstances and cyber stalking and bullying dramas seem to be a staple of both the Lifetime channel and the local news.

How to delete Safari history and website data on iPhone

Clear Safari history iOS

Web browsers are always collecting information, and Safari on iOS devices is no different. iPhone owners interested in enhancing privacy can use private browsing when opening a new Safari tab. But what about all of the cookies, browsing history, login data and other files that accumulate during a normal web session? There are two places in iOS where this information stored by Safari can be manually deleted at any time.

Enhance iPhone App Privacy with Eclair

iOS 8 app privacy

Unlocking the iPhone normally brings up whatever app was open when the sleep/wake button was pressed. Sometimes this is a problem, because whatever activity, video or music that was last displayed will still be opened upon unlock. Eclair gives jailbreakers more control over what appears when the device is first unlocked.

To improve privacy, Eclair can prevent the last used app from appearing at all. It works by hiding or terminating the app automatically when the device is locked. Once installed, there's a toggle to enable the tweak in Settings, along with some options to configure. Besides the option to hide or kill an open app after lock, Eclair is capable of always opening the SpringBoard home page at unlock.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Privacy