Twitter

Apple launches new Twitter account to share tips, tricks and helpful information with customers

Apple Support Twitter

Apple today launched a new Twitter account to handle customer support queries and share tips and tricks with its followers. The account is verified by Twitter which signifies Apple is officially running the feed. The official description of @AppleSupport reads:

"We’re here to provide tips, tricks and helpful information when you need it most, and if you have a question, well - we're here to help with that too."

Periscope App Broadcasts Live Video From iPhone

Twitter has launched its live-streaming video app Periscope for iOS. The social networking app makes it possible to broadcast live video quickly and simply, right from an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. Followers are notified that your broadcast is live, and they can join and comment on the stream in real time. Periscope even has a "hearts" feature that allows viewers to tap the screen to send fluttering hearts as a sign of appreciation.

iOS Periscope app1”  title=

Periscope will keep track of hearts received, ranking Periscope users in a "Most Loved" list. Earlier this month, Twitter shut down the competing service Meerkat, which was using Twitter accounts to function. Unlike Meerkat, Periscope allows for video replays to be watched for up to 24 hours after the live broadcast.

Add Confirmation to iOS Twitter Actions

Frequent users of the iOS Twitter app have probably noticed how easy it is to accidentally perform actions when viewing the timeline feed. Tapping the favorite button or retweeting by mistake can happen inadvertently when scrolling. The jailbreak tweak TwitConfirm seeks to reduce these accidental actions for those with jailbroken devices.

iOS 7 jailbreak TwitConfirm

Once installed, TwitConfirm adds a confirmation screen to the retweet and favorite buttons. Selecting one of these actions will result in a dialog box requiring a Yes or No entry to proceed. Since the action is brought to the user's attention, retweeting or favoriting without even realizing it becomes a thing of the past.

Vine Adds the Ability to Send Messages to Your Friends and Family

Vine users can now send video or text messages to anyone listed in their Contacts app, or to other Vine members. To send messages via the Vine app, just select the “Messages” option in the Settings menu or tap the Message button on a person's profile.

Vine Messages

The new "VM" feature only offers the ability to start one-to-one conversations, not group chats. However, you can send as many video messages as you want, you just have to start separate conversations with each contact. Like Facebook, VM also includes two inbox options: The first option is for people you know, and the other is for "people outside your network". You can disable the option to receive messages from strangers by turning off the "Other Inbox" feature in your Settings menu.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Twitter