Changes to conversations are coming to the Twitter app on iPhone and iPad. The company has begun testing out a new setting which can limit who replies to a tweet. By default, anyone can reply to a tweet. The new settings change this, making it possible for a user to limit who can reply. The new conversation settings have undergone testing for months and may soon come to the entire user population.
Some iPhone owners are tired of the relentless stream of commentary on social media. If Twitter is taking up too much time, or tweets are getting you down, the service provides an easy way to deactivate your account. Accounts that are accidentally or wrongfully deactivated can be restored within 30 days before they are wiped. For anyone ready to throw in the towel on their twitter handle, accounts can be deleted in a few steps.
Twitter recently emailed its users about a security breach in which user passwords stored in an internal log were unmasked. Though the bug has been fixed, Twitter suggests users change their passwords and consider turning on login verification. Login verification is Twitter's version of two-factor authentication, which is an extra layer of security that is available for your Apple ID, Facebook and many other online services.
You can "deactivate" your Twitter account at twitter.com. Deactivation is not available on mobile devices. Here's how to cancel your Twitter account:
Twitter does have a night mode that makes it easier on the eyes in a dark room. You can turn it on by tapping on your avatar in the top left, then going to Settings and Privacy -> Display and Sound, and toggling on Night Mode.