Tips

How to turn off Automatic Sharing in Messages on iPhone

Messages automatic sharing

For your convenience, iOS delivers content that's shared in Messages threads directly to apps on your iPhone. For example, photos sent using iMessage appear automatically under the For You tab in the Photos app. The Shared with You section shows all of the pictures sent with Messages, who they are from, and whether or not they've been saved to an album in the Photos app. Other types of content are automatically delivered to other apps, such as links in Safari.

How to offload apps and increase storage on iPhone

Offload apps iOS

Once your iPhone starts running out of space, iOS can stop working properly. Of course, iOS will do its best to deliver warnings and offer help with making more disk space available. One of the quickest ways to add storage without losing any valuable data is to offload apps. Offloading apps keeps essential app data on your device, but removes the app itself to free up space.

How to reset a locked iPhone with no computer

iPhone is disabled

Those who have reset an iPhone in the past may remember using a computer and following a complicated series of steps to enter Recovery Mode. iOS 15.2 or later skips the computer by allowing the iPhone to reset all on its own. For anyone who's locked out of their device, a complete reset may be the only way forward. Once the device is reset your data and settings can be restored from an iCloud backup.

How to use a memory card on iPhone

SD card reader iPhone

Using a memory card or thumb drive with iPhone is more convenient than ever. iOS can easily transfer files without any additional apps or software needed. The only thing that's required is a piece of hardware to connect to the Lightning port on iPhone. If you already have an SD card reader that connects via USB, this can be used with iPhone, too.

The stock Files app on iOS reads the memory card and offers the extended storage as a drive.

How to blur the background on FaceTime calls

FaceTime Portrait mode Control Center

With the surge in remote work and video calling many have gotten used to seeing other people's rooms behind them. Sometimes a fake digital background can be fun, but for other situations it may not be appropriate. The easiest and fastest way to put the focus on your face is to automatically blur the background on a video call. FaceTime now has this capability on iOS 15 and later.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Tips